September 20, 2012

Presidential Search Committee Members Appointed by SUNY Empire State College Council

Chancellor Zimpher sits as Jim Lytle introduces her to the presidential search committee

SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher, seated, joined College Council Chair James Lytle at the meeting

‌(SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. – Sept. 20, 2012) SUNY Empire State College Council Chair James Lytle yesterday announced the formation of the college’s Presidential Search Committee and its members. The search committee will recommend candidates to succeed former President Alan R. Davis, who announced his resignation in the spring of this year to take the position of president at Kwantlen Polytechnic University in British Columbia.

Lytle will chair the search committee. The other representatives from the College Council are G. Angela Henry, Lewis P. Trippett and Daniel E. Wall.

The student representative is Timothy Minahan, currently enrolled in the School for Graduate Studies; Brian Curran '80, Genesee Valley Center, is the alumni representative.

Members of the Presidential Search Committee

Several members of the Presidential Search Committee at the meeting

‌The Empire State College Foundation Board of Directors is represented by John Corrou and Hudson Valley Center Dean Gary Lacy represents the college’s academic deans.

The representatives from the college faculty are: Frances Boyce, Long Island Center, Hauppauge, John Lawless, Central New York Center, Utica, Alan Mandell, Metropolitan Center, Frieda Mendelsohn, Niagara Frontier Center, Phillip Ortiz, Center for Distance Learning and Tina Wagle, School for Graduate Studies.

David Puskas, assessment specialist, represents the college’s professional employees and Dareth McKenna represents the college’s support staff.

John M. Anderson, president of Alfred State College, is the SUNY representative.

Lytle also announced the selection of RPA Inc., of Williamsport, PA,. to provide executive search and recruiting services. RPA was selected through the SUNY competitive bidding process.

SUNY Assistant Provost Nancy Willie-Schiff and Lee Riddell, director of the SUNY Leadership Institute, serve as the liaisons for the chancellor’s office. Mary Caroline Powers, vice president of the college’s Office of Communications and Government Relations, is the campus liaison.


Media Contact: David Henahan, director of communications

SUNY Empire State College

518-587-2100, ext. 2918


Media Contact

David M. Henahan, Director of Communications
518-587-2100, ext. 2918

(after 5 p.m. and weekends)

Take the Next Step

Ready to advance your education and career? There’s no time like the present. Apply now, or learn more about SUNY Empire at one of our information sessions.