College Organization

SUNY Empire State College is one of 64 institutions in the State University of New York system. The SUNY system comprises 13 doctoral degree-granting institutions, 13 comprehensive colleges, eight specialized colleges and 30 community colleges. SUNY Empire State college is one of the 13 comprehensive colleges.

Officer in charge Nathan Gonyea, Ph.D., reports to the chancellor of the university system, Jim Malatras, Ph.D., who reports to the SUNY Board of Trustees.

Empire State College also has an external College Council appointed by the governor of New York state and chaired by John Maggiore. The council provides wide-ranging advice to the officer in charge, and, in case of a vacancy, provides recommendations for the college presidency.

Empire State College is organized into eight operational divisions: the Office of the President, academic affairs, administration, information technology services, enrollment management, decision support, advancement and communications and government relations. Each division is led by a vice president who reports to the president of the college, or officer in charge.