The Global Learning Qualifications Framework

The Global Learning Qualifications Framework (GLQF) is designed to assist students to document their verifiable college/university-level learning for academic credit and to provide an academic framework for evaluators to evaluate student learning.

The GLQF clusters learning into three overaching constructs which subdivide into eight learning domains.

Learn about each construct and learning domain by clicking on its name in the graphic or on the links below.

Graphical depiction of the Global Learning Qualifications Framework with eight learning domains integration construct knowledge construct engagement construct ethical responsibility learning domain information literacy learning domain communication learning domain integrated knowledge learning domain applied knowledge learning domain specialized knowledge learning domain learning engagement learning domain sociocultural and civic engagement learning domain


Integration | Knowledge | Engagement

Learning Domains

Specialized Knowledge | Applied Knowledge | Integrated Knowledge | Communication

Information Literacy |
Ethical Responsibility | Sociocultural and Civic Engagement | Learning Engagement

About the Framework

The Global Learning Qualifications Framework (GLQF) is a culmination of research on more than 90 countries’ policies, procedures and qualifications frameworks, the Lumina Foundation’s Degree Qualifications Profile (DQP) [PDF], the AAC&U’s Liberal Education and America’s Promise (LEAP) project and resulting VALUE Rubrics, as well as other research and materials examining ways in which we can evaluate undergraduate and graduate education.

SUNY REAL logo return to landing page for SUNY REAL

Take the Next Step

Ready to advance your education and career? There’s no time like the present. Apply now, or learn more about SUNY Empire at one of our information sessions.