The Global Learning Qualifications Framework

The Global Learning Qualifications Framework (GLQF) is designed to assist students to document their verifiable college/university-level learning for academic credit and to provide an academic framework for evaluators to evaluate student learning.

The GLQF clusters learning into three overaching constructs which subdivide into eight learning domains.

By clicking on the names of the constructs and learning domains in the Global Learning Qualifications Framework graphic below, you will be taken to the webpage that describes that element of the framework.

integration construct knowledge construct engagement construct ethical responsibility learning domain information literacy learning domain communication learning domain integrated knowledge learning domain applied knowledge learning domain specialized knowledge learning domain learning engagement learning domain sociocultural and civic engagement learning domain

Overarching Constructs: Integration, Knowledge, Engagement

Learning Domains:

Specialized Knowledge | Applied Knowledge | Integrated Knowledge | Communication

Information Literacy |
Ethical Responsibility | Sociocultural and Civic Engagement | Learning Engagement

About the Framework

The Global Learning Qualifications Framework (GLQF) is a culmination of research on more than 90 countries’ policies, procedures and qualifications frameworks, the Lumina Foundation’s Degree Qualifications Profile (DQP) [PDF], the AAC&U’s Liberal Education and America’s Promise (LEAP) project and resulting VALUE Rubrics, as well as other research and materials examining ways in which we can evaluate undergraduate and graduate education.

Students, faculty and evaluators must follow SUNY Empire State College Policies and Procedures.

This project was funded through a Lumina Foundation grant.

Take the Next Step

Ready to advance your education and career? There’s no time like the present. Apply now, or learn more about SUNY Empire at one of our information sessions.